Collar Creek

EveryYay no-pull harness review

Petco's own-brand front-clip harness does everything the box says. The question is not whether it works — it is what you are paying for a feature list you can buy for a lot less.

By Stephen V.Updated How we research

A quick note on what this review is and is not, because it matters here. We do not own this harness and we do not claim to have tested it. What we did was read the live listing on 6 September 2026, note exactly what the manufacturer states, check what is actually purchasable, and compare that feature list against harnesses we have already ranked. Everything below is either quoted from the listing or is our reasoning about it, and it is labeled as one or the other.

First: which EveryYay harness do you actually mean?

This is the part that trips people up, and it is worth two minutes before you spend anything. EveryYay is Petco’s own-brand label, and it sells more than one harness that people call “the no-pull one”.

  • Embrace the Pace — the line marketed explicitly as a no-pull harness. Its Amazon listings publish a short feature list: a hassle-free design, adjustable slide straps and a soft breathable cooling mesh. When we ran live catalogue checks on 6 September 2026, the Small and X-Small listings both came back Currently unavailable.
  • Front Walking Reflective — the front-clip harness that is buyable, and the one this review covers. Its listing is much more specific about the mechanism.

One further oddity worth knowing, because it affects what you get: the feature bullets differ between colors of the same Front Walking harness. The teal and pink listings spell out the front metal D-ring, the traffic handle and the four strap slides. The black listings publish a shorter description — canvas exterior, tech-mesh lining, reflective accents, plastic buckles, “easy pullover design” — and do not mention a front ring at all. If the front ring is why you are buying it, read the bullets on the exact variation you are about to click.

What the listing actually claims

Read from the Front Walking Reflective listing, verbatim in substance:

  • A front metal D-ring leash attachment “to discourage pulling”, plus a back D-ring described as being for expert walkers
  • Four adjustable strap slides for a custom fit
  • A traffic handle to keep the dog close for control
  • Reflective panels front and back
  • A soft breathable mesh lining
  • Slips over the head and clips at both sides, with a plastic clip buckle closure

That is a complete, sensible specification for an everyday front-clip harness. The front ring is the mechanism that matters — it turns a pulling dog back toward you rather than letting it lean into the load — and the EveryYay has it, in metal, which is the right choice. Four adjustment points is what you want. A handle is genuinely useful in traffic. The mesh lining and reflective panels are both normal for the category.

The problem, stated plainly

Every single item on that list is also published by dual-clip vests that cost considerably less. Front metal ring: yes. Back ring: yes. Four adjustment straps: yes. Padded, breathable mesh: yes. Top control handle: yes. Reflective webbing: yes. When two products publish the same specification and one costs much more, the more expensive one has to justify the gap with something — materials, hardware, warranty, a design nobody else has — and the EveryYay listing does not claim any of those things.

We are not going to print a price here, because prices move and a number in a sentence goes stale the day after it is written. The comparison table below pulls both live prices from our daily retailer check. Look at the two figures side by side and the verdict is not really ours to make.

There is one more detail worth flagging: the closure is a plastic clip buckle. That is completely normal at the budget end of the market and slightly harder to defend at this end of it, where you might reasonably expect metal hardware.

Who should still buy it

There is a real case for it, and it would be dishonest not to give it.

  • You shop at Petco anyway. If you have store credit, a rewards balance or a repeat-delivery arrangement, the effective price is not the shelf price and the maths changes.
  • You want to try it on the dog first. Buying a harness in a shop where you can check the fit on the actual animal is worth something real, particularly for a deep-chested or awkwardly proportioned dog. Sizing is the single most common reason a harness gets returned.
  • You like the design. It is a good-looking harness, and if you are going to look at it every day for three years, that is a legitimate reason to prefer it. Just buy it knowing that is what you are paying for.

Who should not

Anyone buying on value — which, on this site, is most people. If you are choosing a harness on what it does per dollar, the EveryYay is beaten on the specification sheet by harnesses in the table below, and beaten on mechanism by the chest-martingale designs if your dog pulls hard. The design is nice. The mechanism is standard. The price is the whole story.

The EveryYay first, since that is what you came for, then the three harnesses we would put your money into instead — a value dual-clip vest, the budget clone of the same formula, and the chest-martingale design for a dog that pulls hard. Every price below is live and dated; nothing in our text is.

Quick picks

Ranked on specs, value and fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
EveryYay Front Walking Reflective Harness

EveryYay Front Walking Reflective Harness

Petco's house-brand front-clip harness, and on paper it is a perfectly sensible one: front metal ring, back ring, four adjusters, mesh lining and a traffic handle. The problem is the price it asks for that feature list, which is roughly what two of the front-clip harnesses we rank above it cost together.

The one under review
$34.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
rabbitgoo No-Pull Dog Harness

rabbitgoo No-Pull Dog Harness

The value benchmark. Two leash rings (front for pulling, back for calm walks), four adjustment points and a padded chest for roughly a fifth of the price of the premium names. This is where most people should start.

Same features, better value
$21.98 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
PHOEPET No-Pull Reflective Harness

PHOEPET No-Pull Reflective Harness

A close budget clone of the padded-vest formula: front and back clips, a fully reflective wrap for night walks, and a handle — usually a few dollars under the rabbitgoo. Fine value if it's the cheaper of the two when you check.

Cheapest that still works
$20.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
PetSafe Easy Walk Harness

PetSafe Easy Walk Harness

A front-clip-only, martingale-style chest strap that turns a puller sideways instead of letting them lean in. It's the harness trainers reach for to manage pulling on day one — not a forever harness, but effective and cheap.

Better mechanism for hard pullers
$22.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

#1The one under review

EveryYay Front Walking Reflective Harness

Petco's house-brand front-clip harness, and on paper it is a perfectly sensible one: front metal ring, back ring, four adjusters, mesh lining and a traffic handle. The problem is the price it asks for that feature list, which is roughly what two of the front-clip harnesses we rank above it cost together.

Strengths

  • Front metal D-ring the listing states is there to discourage pulling
  • Four adjustable strap slides and a back ring for a dog that already walks well
  • Traffic handle and front-and-back reflective panels

Trade-offs

  • Priced well above dual-clip harnesses publishing the same feature list
  • Plastic clip buckle closure despite the price
  • Amazon stock is thin and variation-dependent; sizes and colors come and go
TypeOverhead, dual clip (front + back)
Adjustment points4 strap slides
ReflectiveYes — front and back panels
Control handleYes — traffic handle
BucklePlastic clip
Crash testedNot published

Specs read from the product listing on September 6, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Same features, better value

rabbitgoo No-Pull Dog Harness

The value benchmark. Two leash rings (front for pulling, back for calm walks), four adjustment points and a padded chest for roughly a fifth of the price of the premium names. This is where most people should start.

Strengths

  • Front and back leash rings — the front ring is the actual no-pull mechanism
  • Four adjustment straps, so escape-prone chests can be dialed in
  • Reflective straps and a top control handle at a genuinely cheap price

Trade-offs

  • Oxford fabric is comfortable but not chew- or shred-proof
  • Sizing runs snug — measure the chest and size up if between
TypeOverhead vest, dual clip (front + back)
Adjustment points4
ReflectiveYes
Control handleYes

Specs read from the product listing on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Cheapest that still works

PHOEPET No-Pull Reflective Harness

A close budget clone of the padded-vest formula: front and back clips, a fully reflective wrap for night walks, and a handle — usually a few dollars under the rabbitgoo. Fine value if it's the cheaper of the two when you check.

Strengths

  • Reflective material wraps most of the vest for visibility
  • Dual clips and a control handle like the pricier vests
  • Adjustable neck and chest for a decent fit range

Trade-offs

  • Same fabric durability caveats as other budget vests
  • Color and hardware feel less refined than rabbitgoo
TypeOverhead, dual clip (front + back)
ReflectiveYes (full wrap)
HandleYes
Adjustment points4

Specs read from the product listing on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Better mechanism for hard pullers

PetSafe Easy Walk Harness

A front-clip-only, martingale-style chest strap that turns a puller sideways instead of letting them lean in. It's the harness trainers reach for to manage pulling on day one — not a forever harness, but effective and cheap.

Strengths

  • Front chest clip redirects a pulling dog back toward you
  • Steps on over the head-free — girth straps buckle behind the legs
  • Widely recommended as a pull-management tool

Trade-offs

  • Front-only — no back ring for relaxed walks
  • Can slip toward the shoulders on deep-chested dogs if left loose
TypeFront-clip only, martingale chest loop
ClosureTwo quick-snap buckles
ReflectiveNot published
Best usePull management + training

Specs read from the product listing on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

The verdict

The EveryYay Front Walking Reflective is a perfectly good front-clip harness that is priced as though it were something more. If you are standing in a Petco with a rewards balance and a dog that needs a harness today, buy it and get on with your life — it will work. If you are choosing on the specification and the price, it is beaten by harnesses publishing the same list for considerably less, and we would spend the difference on nothing at all.

Whichever you choose, the harness is half the job. Clip the front ring, fit it to two fingers of slack, and do the loose-leash work — the American Kennel Club is clear that the harness manages pulling while the training is what actually fixes it.

Frequently asked questions

Is the EveryYay no-pull harness any good?

As a harness, yes — it is a normal, competent front-clip design. Its listing states a front metal D-ring intended to discourage pulling, a back D-ring, four adjustable strap slides, a breathable mesh lining, a traffic handle and reflective panels front and back. Nothing about it is bad. What it is not is good value: harnesses publishing the same feature list are available for substantially less, which is the entire basis of our verdict.

Which EveryYay harness is the no-pull one?

There are two lines and this is where most confusion starts. 'Embrace the Pace' is the one marketed explicitly as a no-pull harness. The 'Front Walking Reflective' is the front-clip harness whose listing states a front metal D-ring to discourage pulling. When we checked Amazon on 6 September 2026, the Embrace the Pace listings returned 'Currently unavailable' and the Front Walking Reflective was the buyable one — so that is the model this review covers.

Is EveryYay a Petco brand?

Yes. EveryYay is Petco's own-brand label, which is why it is sold primarily through Petco and appears on Amazon under listings titled 'EveryYay by Petco'. That is not a criticism — house brands are often good value. In this case the pricing does not reflect a house-brand discount, which is worth knowing before you buy.

Does the EveryYay harness stop pulling?

It has the mechanism that reduces pulling: a leash ring on the chest, which turns a pulling dog back toward you instead of letting it lean forward. That works, on this harness as on any other with a front ring. What it will not do — what none of them do — is train your dog. Pair it with loose-leash work or the pulling comes straight back the moment you clip the back ring.

Why is the EveryYay harness sometimes hard to find on Amazon?

Stock is variation-dependent. When we checked, some sizes and colors were in stock, one showed only a few units left, and the whole Embrace the Pace line returned as unavailable. Petco's own stores and site are the primary channel for the brand. If you are set on it, expect the specific size and color you want to come and go.

What should I buy instead of the EveryYay harness?

A dual-clip vest with the same published features for less — a front ring, a back ring, four adjustment points, reflective webbing and a handle. That is our top pick above. If your dog pulls hard enough that a plain front ring slips, a chest-martingale design like the Easy Walk or the Freedom is the mechanism that holds, and both are in the comparison table on this page.

Sources

Keep reading