Collar Creek

The best heated dog beds

Almost everything sold as a heated dog bed is a heating pad with a dial that runs to 130 F. That is fine for a dog who can stand up and walk away, and it is the whole problem for the arthritic dog most people are buying it for. We ranked these on how the heat is controlled.

By Stephen V.Updated How we research

The AKC is clear about who a heated bed is for, and it is a short list: “senior dogs, particularly if they suffer from arthritis, hip dysplasia, circulation issues, spinal injuries, or other conditions that affect their joints,” plus toy breeds, short-coated breeds and dogs with certain medical conditions. A healthy adult dog with a double coat, in a heated house, is not on it.

Which creates the problem this whole category walks past. The dog most likely to be bought a heated bed is an old, stiff, arthritic one — and that is exactly the dog the AKC warns about, because it “could be at risk of overheating or getting burned if they have mobility issues and can’t get up easily.” A young dog that gets too warm stands up and moves. The dog you bought this for might not.

So we ranked these on how the heat is controlled rather than on how warm they get. Five of the six let you pick a temperature off a dial that runs to 130 or 131 F. One of them targets the dog’s own body temperature instead, and only heats when the dog is on it. And two have no power at all, which for a lot of dogs is the correct answer and costs a third as much.

Quick picks

Ranked on specs, value and fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Bestio Dog Heating Pad, 28" x 18"

Bestio Dog Heating Pad, 28" x 18"

The best-documented electric pad at a sensible price: MET and UL certification stated, a UL-listed heating wire and temperature sensor inside eight protective layers, a reinforced cord entry, a washable cover and a one-year warranty. It also publishes its temperature range and timer range, which is how you can tell it is being honest with you.

Best overall
$35.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Petmate Aspen Pet Self-Warming Round Bed, 19.5"

Petmate Aspen Pet Self-Warming Round Bed, 19.5"

No cord, no plug, no thermostat, no burn risk, and it costs less than a bag of food. A Mylar layer under the lambswool reflects the dog's own body heat back, which is all a small healthy dog in a heated house actually needs. Start here before you buy anything electric.

Best value, no electricity
$17.75 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Bedsure ComfyFleece Self-Warming Dog Bed, XL

Bedsure ComfyFleece Self-Warming Dog Bed, XL

The self-warming answer at a size a large dog can actually use: 41 by 29 inches of corduroy fleece over a heat-reflecting layer, machine washable, no cord anywhere. For a big dog in a heated house this is the whole solution, and it costs less than the cheapest electric pad that fits one.

Best no-cord option for a big dog
$33.24 · View on Amazon

$34.995% off

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
GOLOPET Extra Large Dog Heating Pad, 47" x 30"

GOLOPET Extra Large Dog Heating Pad, 47" x 30"

An electric pad big enough for a large-breed dog to lie on completely, with the same certification story as our overall pick - MET and UL stated, UL-listed heating wire, eight protective layers, overheat sensor - at a lower price per square inch than anything else here.

Best for a large dog
$48.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
SHU UFANRO Pet Heating Pad with Timer, 35" x 24"

SHU UFANRO Pet Heating Pad with Timer, 35" x 24"

The pad to buy if you want the heat to stop on its own. Six fixed timer settings from two hours up, six temperature steps, a stated 55 C thermal protector and a built-in fuse, and a zip-off plush cover. The AKC's advice is that a regular bed should be the default for overnight sleeping - a 2-hour setting is how you actually follow it.

Best timer
$49.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
K&H Pet Products Lectro-Soft Outdoor Heated Pet Bed, 24" x 19", 40W

K&H Pet Products Lectro-Soft Outdoor Heated Pet Bed, 24" x 19", 40W

The only bed here whose thermostat targets the dog instead of a dial: K&H states it warms the surface to the pet's normal body temperature, and only when the pet is on it. It is also the only one built for a shed, garage or barn, with a steel-wrapped cord and an orthopedic foam base. It costs roughly twice the indoor pads, and it earns it.

Best for a shed or garage
$86.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Bestio Dog Heating Pad, 28" x 18"

The best-documented electric pad at a sensible price: MET and UL certification stated, a UL-listed heating wire and temperature sensor inside eight protective layers, a reinforced cord entry, a washable cover and a one-year warranty. It also publishes its temperature range and timer range, which is how you can tell it is being honest with you.

Strengths

  • MET and UL certification stated, with a UL-certified heating wire and temperature sensor, a waterproof and flame-retardant inner layer and power-failure protection
  • LCD switch showing temperature and time together, an 80-130 F range and a 1-24 hour timer, so you can run it low and short rather than hot and forever
  • Reinforced carabiner at the cord connection plus a removable, washable suede cover; one-year warranty stated

Trade-offs

  • Its range tops out at 130 F, which is far hotter than a dog needs - the dial does not stop you choosing it, and an immobile dog cannot move off it
  • A heating pad, not a bed: there is no bolster and no orthopedic base, so it goes on top of the bed you already own
  • Only 0.5 in thick and 1 lb, so it slides on a hard floor unless something holds it down
Size28" x 18" x 0.5"; 1 lb
TypeElectric heating pad
Temperature80-130 F, adjustable; LCD display
Timer1-24 hours, plus a constant-on mode
SafetyMET and UL certification stated; UL-certified heating wire and temperature sensor; 8-layer structure; waterproof and flame-retardant inner layer; power-failure protection
CordChew-resistant, with a reinforced carabiner at the connection
CoverRemovable, washable suede fleece
WarrantyOne year, stated

Specs read from the product listing on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best value, no electricity

Petmate Aspen Pet Self-Warming Round Bed, 19.5"

No cord, no plug, no thermostat, no burn risk, and it costs less than a bag of food. A Mylar layer under the lambswool reflects the dog's own body heat back, which is all a small healthy dog in a heated house actually needs. Start here before you buy anything electric.

Strengths

  • Mylar interior layer that reflects the dog's own body heat, so there is nothing to overheat, nothing to burn and nothing to chew through
  • Plush bolstered sides for a dog that burrows, and a non-skid bottom stated for tile and hardwood
  • The cheapest thing on this page by a wide margin, and light enough to take in the car

Trade-offs

  • Rated by its own listing for pets under 10 lb, with a 16" x 16" sleeping area - genuinely small
  • Reflective warming only works if the dog is lying on it; it adds nothing to a cold room and nothing for a dog in real pain
  • The listing states no washing instruction at all, which on a bed is a gap worth knowing about
Size19.5" round; sleeping area 16" x 16"
TypeSelf-warming - reflective, no power
Warming layerMylar interior layer that reflects body heat
Rated forPets under 10 lb, per the listing
BaseNon-skid, stated for tile and hardwood
CoverFaux lambswool with plush bolstered sides
WashingNot published
Weight1.1 lb

Specs read from the product listing on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best no-cord option for a big dog

Bedsure ComfyFleece Self-Warming Dog Bed, XL

The self-warming answer at a size a large dog can actually use: 41 by 29 inches of corduroy fleece over a heat-reflecting layer, machine washable, no cord anywhere. For a big dog in a heated house this is the whole solution, and it costs less than the cheapest electric pad that fits one.

Strengths

  • A genuine large-dog footprint at 41" x 29" - most self-warming products stop at cat-bed size
  • Absorbs and reflects the dog's own body heat with no external power, so there is no cord to chew and no setting to get wrong
  • Machine washable and stated to hold its shape through repeated washes, with a non-slip bottom; flat enough to go straight into a crate

Trade-offs

  • Flat mat with no bolster and no orthopedic foam, so it is warmth and nothing else - an arthritic dog needs support under it
  • Reflective warming does not heat a cold room; in an unheated garage or porch this does far less than it does indoors
  • No fill weight, loft or fabric weight published, so you cannot compare its thickness with a padded mat on paper
Size41" L x 29" W x 0.8" H
TypeSelf-warming - reflective, no power
Warming layerSelf-heating layer stated to absorb, hold and reflect body heat
CoverCorduroy fleece
BaseNon-slip
WashingMachine washable; gentle cycle and tumble dry low, stated
Fill weightNot published

Specs read from the product listing on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for a large dog

GOLOPET Extra Large Dog Heating Pad, 47" x 30"

An electric pad big enough for a large-breed dog to lie on completely, with the same certification story as our overall pick - MET and UL stated, UL-listed heating wire, eight protective layers, overheat sensor - at a lower price per square inch than anything else here.

Strengths

  • 47" x 30" covers a large dog end to end, which the medium pads do not - and it costs less than the 24 x 19 outdoor pad below
  • MET and UL dual certification stated, with a UL-listed heating wire, a built-in overheating-protection sensor and power-off protection
  • Same 80-130 F range and 1-24 hour timer as the overall pick, a reinforced buckle at the cable connection, and a machine-washable long-pile cover

Trade-offs

  • 130 F at the top of the range is more heat than any dog needs, and nothing prevents you selecting it
  • One listing bullet reads only "1818", which is a copy error - not a reason to reject it, but the listing has clearly not been proofread
  • 0.5 in thick with no base or bolster; on a hard floor it is a warm sheet, not a bed
Size47" L x 30" W x 0.5" H; 1 lb
TypeElectric heating pad
Temperature80-130 F, adjustable thermostat
Timer1-24 hours, plus a constant-on mode
SafetyMET and UL dual certification stated; UL-listed heating wire; 8-layer structure; overheating-protection sensor; waterproof and flame-retardant inner material
CordPower-line protection tube with a reinforced buckle at the connection
CoverRemovable, machine-washable long-pile fabric
WarrantyOne year, stated

Specs read from the product listing on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best timer

SHU UFANRO Pet Heating Pad with Timer, 35" x 24"

The pad to buy if you want the heat to stop on its own. Six fixed timer settings from two hours up, six temperature steps, a stated 55 C thermal protector and a built-in fuse, and a zip-off plush cover. The AKC's advice is that a regular bed should be the default for overnight sleeping - a 2-hour setting is how you actually follow it.

Strengths

  • Six discrete timer settings - 2, 4, 8, 12, 24 hours or always-on - which makes short, supervised use the easy option rather than the disciplined one
  • Seven-layer construction with UL-approved heating wire, a stated 55 C thermal protector and a built-in fuse, plus V-0 flame-retardant and waterproof PVC layers
  • Waterproof PVC surface that wipes clean under a zip-off machine-washable plush cover, in a 35" x 24" size that suits a medium-to-large dog

Trade-offs

  • Its range runs to 131 F, the highest on this page; six steps is good, but the top two are more heat than a dog has any use for
  • No warranty period published, where the Bestio and GOLOPET both state a year
  • States a chew-resistant cord casing but no MET or safety-listing claim for the finished product, only for the heating wire
Size35" x 24" x 1"
TypeElectric heating pad
Temperature6 levels, 86-131 F (30-55 C), IC control box with LED indicator
Timer2, 4, 8, 12 or 24 hours, plus always-on
Safety7-layer structure; UL-approved heating wire; 55 C thermal protector; built-in fuse; V-0 flame-retardant and waterproof PVC layers
CordChew-resistant casing
CoverZip-off, machine-washable plush
WarrantyNot published

Specs read from the product listing on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best for a shed or garage

K&H Pet Products Lectro-Soft Outdoor Heated Pet Bed, 24" x 19", 40W

The only bed here whose thermostat targets the dog instead of a dial: K&H states it warms the surface to the pet's normal body temperature, and only when the pet is on it. It is also the only one built for a shed, garage or barn, with a steel-wrapped cord and an orthopedic foam base. It costs roughly twice the indoor pads, and it earns it.

Strengths

  • Thermostatically controlled to warm the surface to the pet's normal body temperature only when the pet is using it, rather than to a number you picked - the single best safety design in this category
  • Built for outdoors: waterproof, a soft orthopedic foam base, a washable fleece cover included, and a 5.5 ft steel-wrapped cord
  • Only 40 W, and K&H states it safety-certifies the whole product rather than just using safety-listed parts

Trade-offs

  • K&H states outright it is "not recommended for pets that chew" - the steel-wrapped cord protects the cable, not the bed
  • Roughly twice the price of the indoor pads here, and smaller than two of them
  • It will not feel warm to your hand when the dog is off it, which reads as "broken" to a lot of buyers - that is the design, not a fault
Size24" x 19" x 2" (medium)
TypeElectric outdoor heated bed with orthopedic foam base
TemperatureThermostatically controlled to the pet's normal body temperature, only when in use
Power40 W
SafetySafety listed; K&H states it certifies the complete product, beyond UL part requirements
Cord5.5 ft steel-wrapped
CoverWashable fleece, included
ChewersNot recommended, per K&H

Specs read from the product listing on October 4, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Does your dog actually need one?

Work down this list in order. It is roughly cheapest to most expensive, and most people stop before the end.

  • Is the floor the problem?A thin bed on tile in a cold room is a cold bed. Lifting the dog off the floor and adding loft fixes more “my dog is cold” complaints than a heating element does, and a normal bed with real depth is the first purchase.
  • Is it pain rather than cold? The AKC lists arthritis and hip dysplasia as the reasons a heated bed helps, and warmth genuinely eases stiff joints. But warmth is comfort, not treatment. If the dog is newly stiff, struggling on stairs or slow to get up, that is a vet conversation and possibly a ramp, not a 35-dollar pad.
  • Will a reflective bed do?Self-warming beds use a layer that bounces the dog’s own body heat back. No cord, no element, no setting, no burn. The AKC notes exactly this trade: with no cords or power source, “you don’t have to worry as much about your dog overheating.” For a small or thin-coated dog in a heated house, this is usually the whole answer.
  • Then electric. Which is where the rest of this page lives, and where the rules start to matter.

The dial problem

Here is the spec nobody puts in a headline. Four of the electric pads here publish their temperature range, and those ranges are:

PadHow the temperature is set
K&H Lectro-SoftThermostatically controlled to the pet’s normal body temperature, and only when the pet is on it. No dial
Bestio 28 x 1880–130 F, you choose, plus a 1–24 hour timer
GOLOPET 47 x 3080–130 F, you choose, plus a 1–24 hour timer
SHU UFANRO 35 x 2486–131 F in six steps, plus six fixed timer settings
Self-warming matsNot applicable — reflective only, no element

Read the first row against the others. K&H’s design decides the target temperature from the dog; everyone else’s decides it from whatever you last pressed. That is the meaningful difference in this category, and it is worth more than any amount of plush.

None of this makes the dial pads unsafe — they are certified, they have overheat sensors and thermal cut-outs, and the bottom of their range is gentle. It makes them pads that need a decision from you. Set them low. If you have never deliberately set the temperature on your dog’s heating pad, it is probably still on whatever it arrived at.

The four rules, all from the AKC’s own guidance

  • Supervise it.“It’s important to supervise your dog any time they’re using a heated dog bed or pet heating pad.” This is the rule people break first and it is the one the whole category is built on ignoring.
  • Not for overnight.“Regular dog beds should be the go-to for overnight sleeping.” An hour of warmth after a cold walk is the use case. Eight unattended hours is not, which is why a pad with a 2-hour timer setting is worth more than a pad with a higher top temperature.
  • Not in a crate.“Heated beds can also be a concern if kept inside a crate where your dog doesn’t have much room to maneuver.” The dog needs somewhere cooler to move to, and a crate by definition does not have one.
  • Mind the cord.“Look for a chew-resistant cord and keep the cord out of your dog’s reach.” Every electric pick here states a chew-resistant or armored cord — and K&H, whose cord is steel-wrapped, still says its bed is not recommended for pets that chew. A protected cord protects the cable, not the dog’s interest in it.

Certification: what MET and UL actually mean here

This is a mains-powered fabric object your dog lies on, so the electrical safety claim is not boilerplate. Three levels appear on these listings, and they are not the same thing.

A UL-listed component. The heating wire or the sensor is certified. The finished pad may not be. SHU UFANRO states a UL-approved heating wire and nothing about the whole product.

MET and UL certification stated for the product. Bestio and GOLOPET both claim this, alongside eight-layer construction, overheat sensors and flame-retardant inner layers.

Whole-product certification, said explicitly.K&H states it “doesn’t just use safety-listed parts” but certifies the entire product, and calls that out as going beyond UL requirements. Make of the marketing what you will; the distinction it is drawing is a real one, and it is the distinction the other listings blur.

A pad is not a bed

Worth saying plainly, because the search term says bed and the products are mostly pads. Four of the six picks here are 0.5 to 1 inch thick with no bolster and no foam. They go on the bed the dog already has.

That matters most for the dog this page is really about. An arthritic dog needs support as well as warmth, and a half-inch pad on a hard floor gives it neither — it gives it a warm hard floor. If your dog is old and stiff, buy the orthopedic bedfirst and put the pad on top of it. Two of the picks here do include a base: K&H builds its outdoor bed on orthopedic foam, and the Petmate is a real bolstered bed.

Outdoors is a different purchase

If the dog is in a shed, garage, barn or covered run, the indoor pads are the wrong product — they are not built for damp, cold or being stood on in wet paws, and a reflective mat does almost nothing in an unheated space because there is no warmth in the room to hold.

That is what the K&H Lectro-Soft is for: waterproof, orthopedic foam base, steel-wrapped cord, 40 watts. Before you buy one, though, the colder question. The AVMA’s cold-weather guidance makes the point that coat, body fat, activity level and health all change what a given temperature means to a dog, and the AKC’s hypothermia guidance covers what happens when you get it wrong. A heated bed in a cold building is a warm spot in a cold building. For most dogs most of the time, the right answer is the dog coming indoors — and if you are weighing that up, how cold is too cold for a dog is the page to read first.

What we would actually buy

For a small or thin-coated dog in a heated house, the Petmate self-warming bed, and we would not go further. It costs less than twenty dollars, there is no cord, no setting and nothing that can burn anything, and reflective warming is genuinely enough for a dog whose only problem is that tile is cold. For a big dog with the same problem, the Bedsure mat does the same job at 41 by 29 inches for about a third of what a large electric pad costs.

If the dog has arthritis and the warmth is doing real work, the Bestio. It publishes its range and its timer, it states MET and UL certification with a UL-certified wire and sensor, the cord entry is reinforced, and the cover washes. Set it near 80 F, not near 130, and put it on top of a proper bed rather than on the floor. For a Labrador-sized dog or bigger, the GOLOPET is the same specification at 47 by 30 inches and costs less than the smaller outdoor bed.

If you know yourself well enough to know the pad will be left on, buy the SHU UFANRO for its 2-hour timer setting. A timer you will actually use beats a certification you will rely on.

And for a sheltered outdoor space, the K&H — the only bed here whose thermostat is aimed at the dog rather than at a number, which is the design the rest of this category should have copied by now. Just note what K&H itself says: not for pets that chew.

Frequently asked questions

Does my dog need a heated bed?

Probably not, unless it is on the AKC's list: senior dogs, especially with arthritis, hip dysplasia, circulation issues or spinal injuries, plus toy breeds, short-coated breeds and dogs with certain medical conditions. A healthy adult dog with a decent coat, in a heated house, does not need one. Before buying, check whether the real problem is a thin bed on a cold floor - adding loft fixes more cold-dog complaints than adding an element does.

Are heated dog beds safe?

They are, with supervision, and the AKC's own guidance sets the conditions. The risk it names is specific: a dog 'could be at risk of overheating or getting burned if they have mobility issues and can't get up easily', which is awkward because the arthritic dog is exactly who these are sold to. Its other rules are to supervise any use, to use a regular bed for overnight sleeping, not to put a heated bed inside a crate where the dog cannot move away from it, and to look for a chew-resistant cord and keep the cord out of reach.

Can I leave a heated dog bed on all night?

The AKC says no - 'regular dog beds should be the go-to for overnight sleeping', and it asks you to supervise any use of a heated bed or pad. The realistic use is an hour or two of warmth after a cold walk or during an evening, not eight unattended hours. That is why we rate timer settings over top temperature: the SHU UFANRO pad has a 2-hour setting, and the Bestio and GOLOPET run from one hour, which makes short use the easy option.

Self-warming or electric - which should I buy?

Start with self-warming. It uses a reflective layer to bounce the dog's own body heat back, so there is no cord, no element, no temperature to set and nothing that can burn - and the AKC makes the same point, that with no cords or power source 'you don't have to worry as much about your dog overheating'. For a small or thin-coated dog in a heated house, that is usually the whole answer, and it costs a third of what an electric pad does. Go electric when the warmth is doing real work for an arthritic or elderly dog, or when the space itself is cold.

What temperature should a heated dog bed be?

Lower than the dial allows. Three of the electric pads here publish a range topping out at 130 or 131 F, which is far more heat than any dog needs, and nothing stops you selecting it. Set them near the bottom of the range. The alternative design is K&H's, which has no dial at all: it is thermostatically controlled to warm the surface to the pet's normal body temperature, and only when the pet is actually on it. That is the better idea, and it is the reason that bed costs more.

Can I put a heated pad in my dog's crate?

The AKC advises against it: 'Heated beds can also be a concern if kept inside a crate where your dog doesn't have much room to maneuver.' The whole safety margin on a heated bed is the dog's ability to move somewhere cooler, and a correctly sized crate - which should be just big enough to stand, turn around and lie down - does not have a cooler end. If the crate is where the dog sleeps, use an unheated crate pad and warm the room instead.

What does MET and UL certified mean on a pet heating pad?

It is worth reading closely, because three different claims appear on these listings. A UL-approved heating wire means one component is certified and says nothing about the finished pad - that is what SHU UFANRO states. MET and UL certification for the product, which Bestio and GOLOPET both claim, covers more. K&H goes furthest and says explicitly that it does not just use safety-listed parts but certifies the entire product. For a mains-powered fabric item your dog lies on, that distinction is a real one.

Is a heated pad the same as a heated bed?

No, and most products sold as heated beds are pads. Four of the six picks here are half an inch to an inch thick with no bolster and no foam base - they go on top of a bed you already own. That matters for the arthritic dog this category targets, because warmth without support is a warm hard floor. Buy the orthopedic bed first and add the pad. Two picks here do include a base: the K&H outdoor bed is built on orthopedic foam, and the Petmate is a genuine bolstered bed.

Sources

  • American Kennel Club — Heated Dog Beds: Safety and Choosing the Right One — AKC: heated beds suit 'senior dogs, particularly if they suffer from arthritis, hip dysplasia, circulation issues, spinal injuries, or other conditions that affect their joints', plus 'toy breeds, senior dogs, short-coated breeds, and dogs with certain medical conditions'; the dog 'could be at risk of overheating or getting burned if they have mobility issues and can't get up easily', and 'heated beds can also be a concern if kept inside a crate where your dog doesn't have much room to maneuver'; 'It's important to supervise your dog any time they're using a heated dog bed or pet heating pad' and 'regular dog beds should be the go-to for overnight sleeping'; 'look for a chew-resistant cord and keep the cord out of your dog's reach'; a microwave-warmed pad is offered as the no-cord alternative, and with self-warming beds 'there are no cords or power sources, you don't have to worry as much about your dog overheating' (accessed October 4, 2026)
  • American Kennel Club — Hypothermia in Dogs: How Cold Is Too Cold? — AKC on the mild/moderate/severe hypothermia body-temperature bands and which dogs lose heat fastest (accessed August 13, 2026)
  • American Veterinary Medical Association — Cold weather animal safety — AVMA on the four variables that set a dog's cold tolerance, de-icer exposure, and wet coats making a dog colder (accessed August 13, 2026)
  • American Kennel Club — Dog Stairs vs. Ramps: Choosing the Right Option for Your Dog — AKC on ramps vs stairs for arthritic dogs, non-slip surfaces and introducing a ramp gradually (accessed August 11, 2026)

Keep reading